The lands of Garioch formed a large portion of the territory of Mar and were created as a separate royal lordship, probably by Malcolm Canmore in the 11th century. It was raised to the level of an earldom by King William the Lion for his younger brother David of Huntingdon.


Earls of Garioch (c.1180)


1st Earl of Garioch, David of Scotland, b.1143-1152, a.c.1180, d.1219


Grandson of King David I of Scotland and Maud of Northumberland (b.c.1074, d.1130-1131), and son of Henry of Huntingdon (b.c.1114, d.1152) and Ada de Warenne (b.?, d.c.1178), daughter of William de Warenne, 2nd Earl of Surrey. David was younger brother to two Scottish kings, Malcolm IV and William I. He was awarded various earldoms at birth, including Carlisle, Doncaster, Huntingdon and Northumberland, and later also those of Lennox and Cambridge. He was briefly deprived of his English titles in 1215-1216, but had them restored in 1218. The principal claimants to the throne after the death of King Alexander III in 1286 descended from him via his daughters, Margaret, who married Alan of Galloway, and from whom John Balliol was descended, and Isabella, who married Robert de Brus, 4th Lord of Annandale, and from whom Robert Bruce was descended.


2nd Earl of Garioch, John of Scotland, b.c.1207, a.1219, d.1237


Son of the 1st Earl and Matilda of Chester (b.1171, d.1233), daughter of Hugh of Kevelioc, 3rd Earl of Chester. He became 10th Earl of Huntingdon, and was created 1st Earl of Chester in 1232. When he died, his titles reverted to the crown.



The Lordship of Garioch was granted to Gartnait, 7th Earl of Mar when he married Christina Bruce, sister of King Robert I, and this lordship remained with the earls of Mar until that title reverted to the crown. The earldom of Mar and lordship of Garioch were claimed by Thomas Erskine, a descendant of Gartnaitís daughter Ellen. This claim was rejected by succeeding kings until Mary Queen of Scots relented, awarding the title of Earl of Mar to his descendant John Erksine, 6th Lord Erskine. The title of Earl of Garioch, in the meantime, was used as an honorific, awarded to members of the Royal Family, usually a youngest son, several times over the centuries, and always in association with its companion title of Earl of Mar.



Earls of Garioch (1459)


1st Earl of Garioch, John Stewart, b.1456-1459, a.1458-1459, d.1479


Youngest son of King James II. In 1479, he was imprisoned in Craigmillar Castle, accused of treason, and died shortly afterwards in suspicious circumstances, probably on the orders of his brother the king.



Earls of Garioch (1482)


1st Earl of Garioch, Alexander Stewart, b.c.1454, a.1482, d.1485


Younger brother of King James III. He was already Duke of Albany (for which see for more detail).



Earls of Garioch (1486)


1st Earl of Garioch, John Stewart, b.1479-1480, a.1486, d.1503


Youngest brother of King James IV.



To pick up on later holders of this title, please refer to the Mar page.